California law requires carry concealed weapon license applicants to satisfy specific criteria before being considered for license issuance. The requirements are as follows:
o Residency: All applicants must provide proof that they are a resident of the City of Ione. Non-residents will be referred to the appropriate licensing agency.
o Training: The applicant must complete and show proof of successful completion from an Ione Police Department approved Concealed Carry Course containing modules on safety, the law, and the applicant’s ability to handle a firearm safely. The course shall be a minimum of 8 hours for the initial application and 4 hours for renewals.
o Good Character: Applicants must attest to good character with respect to their ability to responsibly and safely carry and use a concealed weapon.
State and local laws do not prohibit an adult from having a concealed weapon in their home or place of business.
The issuance of licenses enabling a private citizen to carry a concealed weapon (CCW) is of great concern to the Ione Police Department. In accordance with California Penal Code 26150 et. Seq., and subject to Department policy and procedures, any City of Ione resident may be issued a CCW from the Police Chief, if qualified.
Please note that although Penal Code Section 26155 currently contains a requirement that an applicant demonstrate that “good cause” exists for the issuance of a CCW license, the U.S. Supreme Court’s ruling in New York State Rifle & Pistol Association v. Bruen held that New York’s similar “proper cause” requirement was unconstitutional. Therefore, pursuant to Bruen, the Department will not enforce the “good cause” requirement and will not require an applicant to demonstrate “good cause” to qualify for a CCW license. Please note this change is reflected on the DOJ application which was revised in August of 2022 (BOF 4012).
As the Ione Police Department evaluates any amendments to California’s CCW statutes, any revisions to the Department’s policies and procedures will be updated on our website.
*** DISCLAIMER ***
No resident has the right to a license, nor is the Police Chief required to issue a license. By law, the Police Chief has the discretion to approve or deny CCW license applications as well as revoke licenses that have already been issued.